Sewing Machine Love…

My super duper sewing machine -Janome DKS100

I love my sewing machine, over the summer I have used it almost everyday and each time it has been a joy to use. After learning to sew last year my passion for this hobby has grown and after some careful research I decided to purchase my own machine in March this year (I had been using my Mum’s machine) and opted for the Janome DKS100, a computerised sewing machine as recommended by Tilly over at Tilly and the Buttons.    I cannot praise this machine enough, it has been perfect for me so far and today I wanted to share my love for my sewing machine with you.

Here are my top ten reasons for loving my sewing machine:

  1. It’s beautiful – this may seem like a strange thing to start with but I cannot say how satisfying it is to take the protective cover off and be greeted by its cheery bright blue keypad and sleek design – I love it.

Sewing Machine 2

  1. It lets me be a sewer – this may seem like an obvious thing to say but the nifty time-saving gadgets on this machine let me start sewing in a fraction of the time I have experienced with other machines I’ve used. It has buttons for an automatic thread cutter, thread knotting and needle up/down position which not only make sewing easier they have also helped to make my finished pieces neater.
  1. It doesn’t need a foot pedal – this is a controversial point as some sewers find sewing without a pedal disconcerting however, I decided when I got my machine to exclusively use the start/stop button and speed slider rather than the foot pedal. I have found this has become second nature, the start/stop button is placed appropriately so it is easy to use and the speed slider means there are no sudden changes in speed unexpectedly.

gadgets collage

  1. It’s heavy – I could also see this as a disadvantage I suppose as it means I am unable to transport it very easily however, it’s weight means it is stable, particularly when sewing through multiple layers.
  1. It treats me like a numpty – by which I mean it prevents me from making unnecessary mistakes or put myself in unnecessary danger. For example, it recognises which foot is on the machine and if this is appropriate for the selected stitch chosen, if it’s not it won’t let me select the stitch unless I change the foot. It also has a handy ‘safe’ button which can be pressed to prevent machine from starting, even if the start/stop button is accidentally pressed. This is particularly handy when threading the needle.

A handy button to keep me safe - what a (1)

  1. It has some very cute stitches – the machine comes with the capability to use approximately 100 stitches (most of which I haven’t used yet), including basic stitches, simple embroidery, quilting, button holes and more. The best ones of all are the cute embroidery stitches which I can’t wait to use to finish a project or two.

Cute stitch selection

  1. It has a lovely best friend in the form of my super sewing box – the organisation of my sewing bits and bobs is awesome since I was bought this super sewing box by my husband for my last birthday, everything is in one place and it is handily placed right behind me when I am sewing for easy access.

sewing box

  1. I have made some lovely things on it – this machine has given me confidence and in turn this has helped turn me into a better sewer which has encouraged me to sew more. In the months since I have had it I have really enjoyed using it and it’s ease of use has allowed me to create some really nice makes.

my makes collage

  1. It has turned me into a crazy fabric lady – despite lack of funds I have still managed to accumulate quite a fabric stash, mainly in the form of fat quarter bundles which handily fit with my favourite type of make – mini makes and accessories.

IMG_20150820_123519

  1. It will allow me to grow as a sewer – I purposely chose a machine that I could grow into, I am really looking forward to learning new techniques on this machine – I am yet to brave zips or button holes but they will be on the agenda soon or else everything will be poppered or Velcroed together for all eternity!

As you can see I really do love my sewing machine, it hasn’t at present given me anything to complain about and I can’t wait to become an experienced sewer using it.

What do you love about your sewing maching or do you have another crafting tool which you couldn’t live without, I look forward to hearing all about them xx

Disclaimer: the opinions in this review are my own, I was not asked to write this review by Janome and I purchased the Janome DKS100 myself.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “Sewing Machine Love…

  1. Pingback: All the fun of the fair… |

  2. Your sewing machine looks very fancy! I have been thinking about getting a new one for a while but haven’t taken the plunge yet. I haven’t tried one with a stop start button but I think its a good idea. Anyway, I liked reading about the features of your machine & enjoyed this post!

    Like

  3. I so nearly bought this machine and think its an amazing choice! Don’t be afraid of zips … honestly they are so not scary once you have done one … try the Tilly clemency skirt if you want to practice! Or Debby from Sew Sew Easy’s free cosmetic bag pattern … that was where I started! Now button holes … I haven’t tried one yet either! I’ll be interested to hear your experience!

    Like

  4. Oh my! I have major sewing machine envy! Your machine sounds incredible – I love the sound of not needing a peddle, as the peddle is my nemesis! And all those cute stitch options … just wow!! I’m so excited to be following you on your sewing journey…I really want to have a go at those Tilly & The Buttons PJ bottoms next, haven’t found a fabric I love enough yet though. xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

